The Weight of Lies

The Weight of Lies  by Emily Carpenter 4.5 ☆’s

I have been really lucky with reading a few good books in a row now. This one was super fantastic and I read it in a quick three days. I love thrillers, and this book is definitely that. I had thought many times that I had figured out all the lies in the novel, and I was quickly surprised to find out that I was wrong. This book left me on the edge of my seat the whole time. I raced through it to figure out what was exactly going on.

Meg Ashely, daughter of Frances Ashley a famous novelist, finally decides to go home and wish her mother a happy birthday. She soon discovers she will be disappointed again. When she’s home, though, she meets Asa who sends her on an investigation to Bonny Island. Once there, she discovers finding out the truth of what happened on the island is going to be much more complicated than she thought. Will she discover why there is no longer guests on the island, and why everyone is acting so strange? Read to find out.

Every character in the novel had lies that they were using to ‘protect’ others. The more lies that are piled on, the more complicated the plot became. Even at the end, I wasn’t sure who I wanted to believe.

I really enjoyed the book inside a book aspect in this novel. It definitely helped add to the thrilling/creepy factor. Frances Ashley had stayed on Bonny Island forty years before and became a bestselling author based on her book about the little girl at the hotel. Between Meg’s chapters, there is an excerpt from the chapters of Frances’s book Kitten. This helps add to the ‘creepy’ factor of the novel. The excerpts also help add to the mysteriousness of the characters. Was Frances’s book purely fiction, or were there tidbits of truth in the pages?

I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a good thriller and mystery. The plot is very complex but isn’t hard to follow. Carpenter wove a wonderful story that will leave you guessing who is telling the truth the entire time.

I did receive this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All opinions in this blog are mine.

Leave a Reply

