High as the Heavens

High as the Heavens by Kate Breslin 5 ☆’s

Wow. I have been so lucky lately with fantastic books to read. The last few have not disappointed. I am a mystery/thriller fan. but I think I love historical fiction a little bit more. Breslin creates an amazing story and weaves World War I history into the novel beautifully. She used this setting to help add richness to the plot that kept me on the edge of my seat the entire time I read this book – which is why I finished it in less than three days.

Eve and her mother are in Belgium during the first World War. She works as a nurse for the Germans, but she has more secrets under this one facade. As she is going to do a mission for her ‘secret group,’ she realizes that it is going to be more complicated than ever anticipated. She saves a man from a plane crash, and he is British. She soon must use her knowledge and quick thinking to try to get him out of German occupied Belgium. Will her plan work, or will she have to answer to the Germans for what she’s done?

I was pulled in right away. Breslin’s writing is wonderful, and she sets the plot to seem so real. This book isn’t only focused on the war. It also focuses on Eve, and the struggles she has faced from living during this time of war. I really enjoyed how Breslin added so many different elements to the story. There is some love, hurt, and wondering about God and His goodness. There are deep lessons that anyone could take away from the book about His truth and goodness. Eve’s struggles are one’s that I think many could sympathize with in their faith walk. I would encourage anyone who is struggling with the concept of grace and mercy to pick this up. Even though the story is fiction, the struggles are real and relatable. These thoughts about God are one’s even I have wrestled with at one time or another.

I would highly encourage anyone to pick up this book, and give it a go. You won’t be disappointed. I loved it so much, and can’t wait to read her other works.

This book was provided to me by the publisher. All opinions in this blog are mine.

Leave a Reply

