Goliath Must Fall

Goliath Must Fall by Louie Giglio 4 ☆’s

In his book, Giglio takes the story of David and Goliath and analyzes it deeply. He takes this short passage from the Bible and gives insight to what happened that day, and how, we, as believers can take this story and make it applicable to our lives daily. Instead of approaching this story from a perspective of ‘we’ are Goliath, he instead says that we should look at this story as Jesus being David.

This concept, at first, took a while for me to wrap my head around. By the end of the book, I appreciated this perspective and found it to be the better way of looking at these events. David did all that he did for the glory of God. Throughout the book, I was constantly pointed back to God and His goodness. He has already killed my giants, and he did that the day he died on the cross.

Giglio then goes on to explore the different giants that may be present in someone’s lives. He breaks each giant down into the ways they may be affecting someone. He then presents solutions on how to start removing this giant from your life. On every page, I was turned back to Jesus, and how I can use him to help me move past the giants that He has already defeated.

I enjoyed the deep exploration of this encounter. His book challenges me to confront my own giants. I intend to take what I learned and apply it to helping me search for Jesus first and only Jesus. He wraps up by challenging the reader to read Psalm 23 for forty days and nights. This is a challenge I am going to try to pursue.

I did receive a copy of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for a review. All opinions in this blog are mine.

Leave a Reply

