Being Thankful

As I sat down and read a passage in my Bible, I was struck by a particular verse. It caused me to have stirring in my soul, and left me with some deep questions to ponder.

Acts 5:41 So they went on their way from the presence of the Council, rejoicing that they had been considered worthy to suffer shame for His name. 

Let’s give this verse some context: The apostles had been imprisoned, and an angel of the Lord freed them from this imprisonment. When the leaders realized they were gone, they brought them in. The debate was whether or not to put them back in jail. The council decided against it, but they were flogged and told not to preach Jesus. After this is where verse forty-one comes in.

As I was sitting here and read this, I was convicted. If that was me being flogged, would I be praising Jesus, or would I be asking why? Sometimes it’s so easy to want to to question why God would let something like this happen. Why does he let the apostles be flogged? There may never be answers for questions like these, but in all times, be thankful.

We, as believers, should show thanksgiving to God in all seasons, not just the good ones. It’s hard to show thankfulness when everything seems like it is going wrong, but we should still do it. In 1 Thessalonians 5:18, we are told “in everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” So what should this look like?

When you’re having a bad day – give thanks.

When there’s an unexpected expense that pops up -give thanks.

When your boss is being a jerk – give thanks.

When your husband works until 7:30 or later most nights – give thanks. (And this is my life, and I don’t give thanks enough)

When rain ruins plans – give thanks.

Why should we give thanks? We are instructed in his word to “O give thanks to the Lord, for He is good; For His lovingkindness is everlasting” (1 Chronicles 16:34). I know this is where I struggle, and where others may be too. My mission is to give thanks to Him for all things because He is the one in control.

So I present a challenge; will you give thanks in all things – not just the good?

 

All verses are from a NASB Bible.

